Wheat & Brown Sugar Crusted Chicken Sandwich

22 Jun

A few weeks ago my mom, Keira and I took a drive to Albany, NY to visit my grandma and help her move in to my aunt’s house. After we arrived there Friday afternoon, we spent the rest of the day moving things here and there, organizing and getting ready for the more labor-induced Saturday that was quickly approaching. By 6pm we were starving. And so Omi (my gma), Maria (Mama Roy), Aunt Susie, Keira and I set out to find some grub.

“Oh look!” says Maria excitedly as we begin to approach a cute little bar/restaurant called The Ginger Man. “There’s my old stomping grounds!”

[Stomping grounds? Nerd alert…]

alloveralbany.com/images

Then she talked enthusiastically about how she and her friends used to “hang there” when she was in high school. The twinkle in her eyes was unavoidable. There you have it – we would dine at The Ginger Man.

It was in an interesting location – sandwiched between two multi-family homes that were obviously used for housing University of Albany students. I was skeptical at first but figured I’d go along with it – for Maria.

I ordered the Hazelnut Crusted Chicken: A thinned chicken breast coated with finely ground hazelnuts on grilled focaccia bread with lettuce, tomato, basil mayo and roasted red peppers. My mouth is watering as I type this. It. Was. Un. Be. Lievable. The side of sweet potato fries didn’t hurt, either.

To this day, I still think about this dish. And so I decided to do my best to replicate it however instead of using a hazelnut coating, I used whole wheat flour and sweetened it up a little with some brown sugar. I also used red pepper hummus in place of the mayo to make it even healthier. And finally, because I didn’t have any focaccia rolls, I used whole wheat Kaiser rolls instead.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1 large chicken breast, sliced in half lengthwise

¼ cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp brown sugar

2 tbsp red pepper hummus

2 tbsp roasted red peppers

2 slices provolone cheese

A few slices of red onion

A couple lettuce leaves

A few slices of tomato

2 whole wheat Kaiser rolls

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2.  On a plate or in a shallow bowl, mix together the flour and brown sugar and set aside.

3.  Wash and dry chicken thoroughly then coat both pieces well with the flour and brown sugar mixture.

4.  Place the chicken in a baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes in your preheated oven.

5.  While chicken is cooking, toast your rolls and start assembling the sandwich with your lettuce, tomato and onions on the bottom half of the roll.  Spread hummus on the top half of your rolls.

6.  When chicken is done cooking, cut each piece of chicken in half so that both pieces fit nicely on your roll.  Top with roasted red peppers  – which truly take this sandwich to the next level – and provolone cheese and then add the “lid” to your sandwich.

7.  Try very hard not to scarf this brilliance down… savor every bite!

I added a little ketchup to mine.... holy perfection.

I can’t wait for lunch tomorrow… because yes, I made enough to carry on this meal into tomorrow afternoon.  MMmmm… enjoy!

– Alex

One Response to “Wheat & Brown Sugar Crusted Chicken Sandwich”

  1. Maria Roy June 22, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

    i am so happy you pay attention when I talk or you would never have had that sandwich! Your sandwich looks so great!

Leave a comment